Saturday, April 25, 2009

Nature intended the abstract…

…for you and me.

This mix was the first I did solely on CD, and mostly from downloaded mp3s. Yes, I admit that they were not originally my own, but since then I've gotten hold of nearly all of these on disc. In fact, that has been the net outcome of my downloading experience; I buy a ton of CDs, nearly daily, and almost entirely inspired by things I hear/download online.

I had spent a week at a yoga retreat in southern Utah—incredible scenery—at a place, now defunct, called Inner Harmony. I made the mix with those people who were my fellow students and teachers in mind. Then I sent a copy to each of them, along with the address of another of our co-yogis, and asked them each to make cover art and send that to their enclosed recipient. I heard from 2 or 3 out of 20 or so people. Oh, well, one tries.

In any case, several people have given me very warm feedback on this one, so I hope you enjoy it, too.

The Inner Harmonica

(to download the entire mix, click here.)
(to download all the art in order to make a CD with cover, etc., click here.)

1. El Desierto - Lhasa
2. Conference of the Birds - Dave Holland Quartet
3. Mushaboom - Feist
4. Le Fleur - Minnie Ripperton
5. Cissy Strut - The Meters
6. Mr. Rabbit - Paul Westerberg
7. All Good Naysayers, Speak Up! - Sufjan Stevens
8. Spill the Wine - War
9. I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel to Be Free - Shirly Scott and the Soul Axes
10. Beautiful Day - Katell Keineg
11. Plate Techtonics - Phalen/Moore
12. Daughter - Peter Blegvad
13. From Now On, We Walk - The Books
14. Three Day Night - The Books
15. Kaimuki Hula - Na Mele Hawai'i
16. Homeboy - King Creosote
17. Gabriel - Lamb
18. The Plum Blossom - Yusef Lateef
19. N.I.T.A. - Young Marble Giants
20. Such Great Heights - The Postal Service
21. Waitin' For Superman [The Flaming Lips] - Iron & Wine
22. I'm Going Home - Sacred Harp Singers (from Cold Mountain OST)

No comments: